Q: Are there any additional/hidden fees for your classes?
A: No, most of our classes are all inclusive. Our Concealed Carry Class includes use of eye and ear protection, range fee, target, use of a pistol, and 5 rounds of .22lr. However, in our NRA Basic of Pistol Shooting Course and NRA Basic of Rifle Shooting Course the student will need to supply their own ammunition.
Q: I had a Concealed Carry Permit in another state and just moved to Florida, do I need to take a class to get a Florida Concealed Carry Permit?
A: Yes, unless you still have your training certificate from your original class then you will need to take another class. If your class that you originally took did not include “live fire” then Florida will not accept it.
Q: I let my Florida Concealed Carry Permit expire, do I need to take another class?
A: Yes, unless you have your original training certificate or can get a copy of it then you will need to take another class. The Florida Department of Agriculture does not keep it on file once your permit expires.
Q: I was in the military, do I need to take a class in order to get my Florida Concealed Weapon’s Permit?
A: No, if you were Honorably Discharged from the military all you need is a copy of your DD-214. However, it is good to take a class to learn the laws in the state of Florida which we go over in the Concealed Carry Class.
Q: Once I take the Concealed Carry Class where do I go to apply for the Concealed Weapon’s Permit?
A: As we went over in class, you can go to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Division of Licensing’s website to find a location near you where you can apply for your permit. Most of the Tax Collector’s Offices are now offering these services but check the FDOACS website to see if your Tax Collector is offering it.
Q: How much does it cost to get my permit once I take your class?
A: If you go through the Tax Collector’s Office (which I recommend) it costs approximately $120. They help you fill out the application, they take your fingerprints, they take your picture and they submit it off to the state of Florida. Unless you are disqualified, after you apply you will receive your permit in the mail within 90 days.
Q: What will disqualify me from getting a Concealed Weapon’s Permit in Florida?
- The physical inability to handle a firearm safely.
- A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
- Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
- A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
- A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
- A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
- Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
- Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
- Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
- Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force.
- Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
- A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Being a fugitive from justice.
Q: I am not a Florida resident but visit frequently as I have family here. Can I get a Florida Concealed Weapon’s Permit?
A: Yes, you can apply for a Florida Non-Residential Permit if you are not a resident of the state of Florida.
Q: I am not a U.S. citizen, can I get a Florida Concealed Weapon’s Permit?
A: Yes, as long as you are a green card holder or a permanent resident alien and are here legally.